First Draft Video Project: A New Hope

This is exciting! While I still want some side-by-side learning of how to navigate Adobe Premiere, the possibilities are rather nifty. This video project gave me the scope to pull together my semester theme: exploring how we do (or do not) honor a parent’s autonomy within the community that surrounds and supports the parent. As I’ve alluded to, my concern tends to sit with “who” is doing the defining. While we Americans live in a society that pays homage to self-sufficiency and autonomy, we also feel free to share our opinion of how best to raise a child. Indeed, there has been a rapidly increasing spate of kingdom building as people make a living off of child-rearing theories , tools and opinions.

For this draft, I used my Nikon CoolPix digital camera to record two different interviews, as well taking the still pictures I needed for project footage in local businesses. I reviewed the 5-shot method and tried to keep those ideas in my head as I gathered my footage. For the story, I was torn between using hiking paths to give a sense of “finding one’s way” or sticking to my initial idea. After spending time thinking, reviewing audio project footage, and listening to the interview, I decided to stay the course. The still pictures I took in the local businesses would work well with select bits of my audio project, and help convey that sense of being overwhelmed.

Mind made up, I set to work. I developed my storyboard but gave myself the freedom to stray from it as I saw fit. The first change I made was in adding an additional column. An outline is a useful tool for the overall shape, but the details resolve themselves during the actual production. I tend to try out approaches, and if I don’t like it, I scrap it and try something else. It was useful for the skeleton of the project, but I suspect there is not as much detail in my storyboard as a professional in the field might have in hers. I also suspect that if I continued to use Adobe Premiere, I would grow familiar enough with the terminology to know what terms to plug in where.

It’s a good thing I took Thursday off of work to dive into producing the video. This part of it took 10 hours. I was glad I had hyperlinked in my tutorial blog the helpful instructional videos I found, as I referred back to them several times. I tried several new transition effects, and sliced and diced interview footage with radio project narration and mixed and matched stills to form a coherent story. I’m sure there’s room for improvement, and I look forward to feedback!

Video Project Storyboard

6 comments

  1. Shannon –
    I really, really enjoyed your opening! I think the images and narration was wonderful! It grabbed my attention, carried me with you through the feeling of being overwhelmed, and landed me to where you wanted to tell your story. All transitions and audio was great! Great job!

    The flow of your video is good, yet there was one part I got a little lost. I’d suggest adding a transition of a slide or images to tee up the “What would you do differently as a parent?” and after she answers, maybe add footage or images of other things people have tried. I think this would help move bridge the beginning and ending pieces a little smoother.

    I like your ending – again, great images and narration! I’d suggest removing the “sshhh” title slide only because I think the other images you have a certain look and that slide doesn’t seem to flow as well. The only other suggestion I have is to try to slow down your title slides with words on them – it was a little hard to read a couple of them before it moved to something else.

    Overall, you made a great video story! You composed a great video, with your own music, and it was compelling to watch.

    Best,
    Lisa

    Like

    1. These are great suggestions, Lisa. Thank you! I appreciate the feedback. I wasn’t sure the “Shhhh” slide worked well — so it’s good to hear from someone else that that didn’t flow. I’ll see what I can add or chnage with the “What would you do differently” piece — good thoughts!
      Thanks,
      Shannon
      P.S. I left my feedback for you on your “About” page — I couldn’t find the comment box for the draft video story. I hope that’s okay.

      Like

  2. Hi again Shannon. I am happy to be in your critique group again and to have the opportunity to view more of your work this semester. You have definitely chosen a topic that many people can relate to here with your video project. Parenting these days, even with so many modern conveniences, is a time of life that is challenging and overwhelming for many. I wanted to compliment you on the people you chose to interview for your project. I believe they are very relatable and gave an honest opinion about what it is like to raise a baby.

    I have a couple of suggestions for you that I wanted to share with hopes that you will find them helpful. To begin with, your titles really tie your video together – which is great – but I had a hard time reading them because they scrolled very quickly. Perhaps slowing them down a bit will allow for better comprehension for your viewers. The other idea I have would be to move the question you posed to your viewers at the end of the video to your beginning narrative section. Perhaps you can even tie it all back together by either making a suggestion to answer that question or asking the question again in a different way.

    Great work and best wishes on your final draft.

    Like

    1. Hi Rachel! Thanks for the feedback! I am hearing from others that I need to slow those titles down, as well, so I will work on that! Thanks for the suggestion about tying the question at the end into the beginning more clearly — I’ll ponder that one and see what I can come up with. Perhaps a “still” title after the “STOP!” before it moves into the next section . . . again, thanks for your feedback! So appreciated!

      Like

  3. Great topic! Though I am not a mother I completely understand the message. I have to say, I really enjoyed your introduction with the voices and pictures. It reminded me of something from a movie! It was very cool how you used the still images and kept the video portion for the interview. I was hesitant myself about using stills and becoming boring but the way you blended them and sped up the flow was very creative. The interview segment was also nice considering it was in a real setting. Your friend actually holding the baby and going through different moments as she continued to complete the interview was complimenting to the subject.
    To further enhance your video, I would consider a bit more editing on the transition scenes (where you tell the topic). Maybe consider slowing down the words so that you can really take them in and then pick up on the interview. In the beginning, there is also one of the audios that is louder than the others and comes off a bit startling. It is the “rest is best” statement. Your format was great and creative and I am sure the final project will be a good one!

    Like

    1. Thanks for your feedback, Shanelle. I was hesitant about the stills, too, but then decided they worked much better than the video footage I had taken in different stores. It’s trial and error! Slowing down the words will be a focus for the final draft — that is a comment that has been repeated by all! I am stymied by the audio possibilities in Premiere — I agree that “breast is best” is louder than the other audio immediately around it. Thanks for the encouragement!

      Like

Leave a Reply

